misscam: (Sometimes a great notion)
[personal profile] misscam
Cam's Non-Spoilery Reaction to BSG's "Sometimes a Great Notion": Oi.

Spoilery reactions:

- Wow, that was a lot of stuff in an episode where not that much happened as such.
- The 13th Colony were Cylons. Well, that puts a whole new angle on 'all this has happened before' and some very interesting implications for where this show is going. Planet was nuked, like the twelve Colonies... Cylon against Cylon, like the Cylon civil war now.
- Kara finds herself dead and manages to freak out even Leoben. Yeah. She's a bit like the human!Doctor from Journey's End now, isn't she? She has the memories of Kara and might even have been cloned from Kara's body, but does that make her Kara? I look forward to how the show will deal with this, and if she'll tell anyone. She obviously sought Lee to confide at least some of it, but given Kara is not always the greatest communicator, I do wonder how much she'll manage to tell.
- Ellen is the Fifth. I was spoiled for that, but I liked the way it was played with a memory. Makes Tigh/Ellen a whole new thing, doesn't it? And since either way, the revelation of the Fifth couldn't live up to fandom's speculations about it, I was cool with it.
- D'Anna's exit felt a bit anti-climatic to me, since she was hardly in the ep at all. Does make a certain sense given her character's motivations, but I can't help but think about two days later, she'd change her mind.
- Aw Dee :( I was never a Kara/Lee shipper and as such felt a lot of the bile directed at Dee was at times downright horrifying and unfair, though she wasn't personally one of my favourites. But her choice to end it on a high, and seeking those highs she could get to take with her... It made for a gut-punch, though I somewhat saw it coming. Interesting that it was her and not some of the characters that seemed more fragile. It's true, you can't tell.
- Oh Laura and Bill :( Him trying to connect with her and her shutting him out was painful, but grief can pull apart as much as it can pull people together. It felt realistic, and didn't really bug me that much, because I'm pretty sure it's not a permanent thing. Laura quite clearly totally shut down, while Bill acted more out and I dont think what's to come is a happy ending for anyone. But that's not to say they can't find something good between them at times. SEX AND CUDDLES
- Bill trying to get Tigh to shoot him and Tigh seeing through it? Total love and character-sense. Their united front at the end was sweet. Tigh is totally Bill's platonic love of his life. How scary was the role reversal, though? Oh Adama, you're going to be in a rough spot a while, aren't you?
- I'm still confused a bit about the Five, though that's in part because we don't have the full story yet. The little glimpses were alternate funny and sad. Anders playing in some band? Bwhaha, brilliant. Also, Saz suggested Ellen might be Pythia and the thought of Laura's face if that were true and to be revealed? I would pay good money to see that.
- I am rethinking where this show is going a bit. Maybe it's not so much about the plot as the mirror to the humanity, and that is what the ending is about.
- Helo, Athena and Hera's little play scene was super cute, but a bit scary too in light of everything. Says something about how parents deal with grief in front of children, i think.
- So many people just fell apart in this episode. I want to hug them all.
- This show is great, but I can see how it's a bit much for people. Holy dark depressing Cylon, yowza.
- WHAT DOES THIS ALL MEAN ARGH HOW WILL IT GO ARGH NEED MORE EPISODES GIMME

[on the topic of kid!Dee picture]
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 and a bit random, but I couldn't help noticing it was a red bike. And she looks about 12. LOL
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 but what is that under her arm?
[livejournal.com profile] misscam dunno, a book?
[livejournal.com profile] misscam not sure all details are important :P
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 I didn't think it was important, just looks weird
[livejournal.com profile] misscam you're just an obsessive little thing sometimes :p
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 :P
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 I just wonder what's holding it there - both her hands are on the handlebars, it appears
[livejournal.com profile] misscam omg you
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 what?
[livejournal.com profile] misscam this episode delivers amazing revelations about Earth, Cylons and stuff, and your concern is a bike
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 not a bike, the weird thing hanging off kid!Dee's not-yet-boob
[livejournal.com profile] misscam lol
[livejournal.com profile] misscam you're funny
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 glad you think so
[livejournal.com profile] misscam now write long meta on theories to what it is
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 I don't have any theories. I don't wanna speculate, I just wanna KNOW
[livejournal.com profile] misscam you probably never will
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 aaaargh
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 I will have to kidnap RDM and hold a gun to his head until he tells me
[livejournal.com profile] misscam while at it, make him tell us everything else
[livejournal.com profile] lotus79 nah, we will find the rest out in due course
[livejournal.com profile] misscam it's good to see where your priorities lie

What did you all think?

Date: 2009-01-17 02:26 pm (UTC)
ext_23303: (Default)
From: [identity profile] lotus79.livejournal.com
It does look like a book. But what's keeping it there? Is it glued to the dress? WTF? Will we ever know??

Date: 2009-01-17 02:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] misscam.livejournal.com
I think maybe she only has one hand on the handlebars after all.

You're so funny when you obsess.

Date: 2009-01-17 02:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cadiliniel.livejournal.com
I don't even really follow BSG (I will one day, when I can catch up with it all, because what I have seen obviously rocks), but I have so much love for Adama/Roslin. They are so adorable, yet so badass with each other.

Date: 2009-01-17 02:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] misscam.livejournal.com
They are totally awesome and made of win. And yeah, that badass and cute combination is really odd on paper, but works oh so well.

Date: 2009-01-17 02:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xmaidelx.livejournal.com
There were SOOOOOOOOOOO many things I enjoyed about this episode.

I haven't even been able to type them up, but I certainly believe that the show's a reflection of our humanity as a whole.

And... Right now I can pretty much just say "holy frak".

Date: 2009-01-17 03:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] misscam.livejournal.com
Yeah, I think that's been a point since the beginning, I'm just beginning to consider that as maybe more important than the narrative. Not sure how to phrase it.

So, so much to consider my brain spins a bit. But argh, need more episodes.

Date: 2009-01-17 06:17 pm (UTC)
skybound2: (Default)
From: [personal profile] skybound2
I was completely SHOCKED by Dee's suicide. Partly because I was convinced throughout the whole opening of the episode that I was right, and that she was going to be revealed as the final cylon. Hell, even AFTER she killed herself, I thought that she might STILL be the final cylon. But the thought that she was just that DONE with everything, that she thought to give herself a few good memories to go out n is just so painful. I might be a Kara/lee lover, but that was never a negative on Dee, and i really felt for her this episode.

Laura and Bill just killed me. Whene he walked out and she just started sobbing? Oh, man. That was rough. And I just wanted him to get the HELL back in there and make it better.

Are we certain that D'Anna is getting left behind for good? Is it confirmed that she won't be in any more episodes? I really hope that that's not the case, because if it is, it was definitely lackluster...

Date: 2009-01-17 08:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rivrea.livejournal.com
I was spoiled for Dee's death AND I'm a ginormous Kara/Lee shipper, and I still feel like throwing up a little in my mouth or sobbing into my pillow after her suicide scene. Emotionally speaking, this was one of the worst moments of the show for me. I think I'll have to re-read your IM talk with [livejournal.com profile] lotus79 and make up an AU where Dee is saved by the Doctor (who gave her that bike as a wee kid) and has zany adventures as a companion in the TARDIS, yes.

*whimpers quietly*

Date: 2009-01-17 11:48 pm (UTC)
ext_100881: Laura Roslin and Bill Adama, cartoon style. (Default)
From: [identity profile] lily-winterwood.livejournal.com
Total word. Again.

WE WANTS TEH A/R SECKS ND KUDDLEZ, YESSSS PRECIOUS.

Date: 2009-01-18 02:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hadria.livejournal.com
The Laura and Bill scene destroyed me. I can't take seeing them like that. They're like...the center of the show and my emotions go up and down depending on whether they are having breakdowns or not. GET IT TOGETHER LAURA BBCAKES.

I'm kind of glad Dee is gone not because ILU Kara/Lee but because of the crappy way she treated Billy. But still, Dee. :( It was the perfect way for her to go out, she always lacked control in her life and this was a nice way of her ultimately going out the way she wanted to. But so depressing omg.

also I lol that they just let Baltar back into the science lab though I guess they have no one else, but still.

Adama/Tighlon bromance has always been my fave thing about the show.

Date: 2009-01-18 05:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] distaff-exile.livejournal.com
Dee's suicide really hit home for me. Going out on a high... it made sense, as much as the act ever does. You don't kill yourself when you feel as low as the Mariana Trench. You do it when you get enough energy together to do anything, and then you plan. Then you feel okay, because the end is in sight.

Rotten, that. You have to be careful on the downswing and on the up.

Date: 2009-01-19 09:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chicklet73.livejournal.com
I agree with pretty much all you've said - though I wasn't spoiled about Ellen, nor did I see Dee's suicide coming. That nearly made me jump off the couch when it happened. And oh, watching Lee erase that last "1" off the whiteboard with his finger...*sniffle*

I feel like I've been beaten with a stick after watching this show. It's so very well-done, and it makes me feel and think and react so much...but...OUCH.

Profile

misscam: (Default)
misscam

January 2011

S M T W T F S
      1
2 345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios